fbpx Tier 4 visa scheme extended: reduction in required documentation | Study Links

Study Links

Phone icon +44 (0) 1274 679710


The latest goings-on at study links

Tier 4 visa scheme extended: reduction in required documentation

Study Links were delighted to learn that the UK Home Office has announced an extension to the scheme which means a reduction in the documentation required for a Tier 4 student visa application.

An additional 11 non-EU countries have been added to the list, including the core market for many of our partner institutions: China.  26 countries are now on the streamlined scheme.

The Home Office confirmed that students from these countries would be able to provide a reduced level of documentation, although they will still need to meet all requirements under Tier 4.

The changes take effect from 6th July 2018.

Tim Bradshaw, Chief Executive of the Russell Group of universities, said:

“This is good news. The UK reaps important economic, social and cultural benefits from the international students who study here and we know that a simple and welcoming visa system is key in attracting them.”

Study Links absolutely agrees and welcomes the change.

The full list of countries in the Tier 4 streamlined scheme are:
Argentina, Australia, Bahrain, Barbados, Botswana, Brunei, Cambodia, Canada, Chile, China, The Dominican Republic, Indonesia, Japan, Kuwait, Malaysia, The Maldives, Mexico, New Zealand, Qatar, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, United Arab Emirates, and the United States of America.

The Home Office has also clarified that citizens from Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan are also treated with lighter documentation requirements.


Read the full statement of change here: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/statement-of-changes-to-the-immigration-rules-hc1154-15-june-2018

Interested in being a homestay? Request a call.